Workshop on Bioethics 30-03-2019-new

Department of Health Professionals Education and Research, People’s University conducted a workshop on “GCP, Bioethics and Human Research Protections” in People’s College of Medical Sciences & Research Centre on 30-03-2019.  Dr Rajesh Kapur, Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, People’s University delivered the welcome address and introduced the topic of the workshop to the participants. The Chief Guest, Prof (Dr.) Sarman Singh, Director and CEO, AIIMS, Bhopal introduced the participants to Good Clinical Practice Guidelines and emphasized its importance in research.

It was highlighted that Good Clinical Practices is an ethical and scientific quality standard for designing, conducting and recording trials that involve the participation of human subjects. Compliance with this standard provides assurance to public that the rights, safety and well being of trial subjects are protected and ensures that clinical trial data are credible, in compliance with Helsinki Declaration. Bioethics is important as medical policies and patients rights legislations are ever changing and health care systems function differently than before.

Dr.Anant Bhan, Adjunct Professor, Centre of Ethics, Yenepoya University, Mangaluru delivered his speech on National Ethical Guidelines for Biomedical and Health Research involving human participants, which is the need of the hour. The salient feature of the 2019 guidelines of New Drugs and Clinical Trial Rules were also discussed. Dr.Ashwin Kotnis, Assoc. Professor, Biochemistry, AIIMS Bhopal, enlightened the participants about what plagiarism in research and also discussed some case studies.

The workshop concluded with vote of thanks by Tukaram Prabhu, Head, DHPER, People’s University. The workshop was attended by more than eighty participants from  People’s College of Medical Sciences & Research Centre, People’s College of Dental Sciences & Research Centre, People’s Dental Academy, People’s College of Nursing, Centre for research & Development People’s University  and all members of Institutional Ethics Committee of these institutions.